Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Edvard Grieg, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Ole Kristian Ruud - Olav Trygvason • Orchestral Songs

Edvard Grieg, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Ole Kristian Ruud - Olav Trygvason • Orchestral Songs Album

Edvard Grieg, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Ole Kristian Ruud - Olav Trygvason • Orchestral Songs Album
Performer: Edvard Grieg, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Ole Kristian Ruud
Title: Olav Trygvason • Orchestral Songs
Country: Norway
Genre: Classical
Released: 2006
Catalog number: BIS-SACD-1531
Label: BIS
MP3 album szie: 1402 mb
FLAC album size: 1907 mb


1Six Songs With Orchestra(29:03)
2IV. En Svane (A Swan), Op. 25 No. 2
Text By – Henrik Ibsen
3VI. Henrik Wergeland, Op. 58 No. 3
Text By – John Paulsen
4Ved Rondane (In The Hills), Op. 33 No. 9
Arranged By – Johan HalvorsenText By – A. O. Vinje
5Foran Sydens Kloster (At The Cloister Gate), Op. 20
Text By – Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson
6Olav Trygvason, Opera Fragment, Op. 50
Text By – Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson
7I. Solveigs Sang (Solveig's Song), Op. 23 No. 19
Text By – Henrik Ibsen
8V. Våren (Last Spring), Op. 33 No. 2
Text By – A. O. Vinje
9III. Fra Monte Pincio (From Monte Pincio), Op. 39 No. 1
Text By – Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson
10Scene 311:22
11Scene 214:59
12II. Solveigs Vuggevise (Solveig's Cradle Song), Op. 23 No. 26
Text By – Henrik Ibsen
13Scene 17:46


  • Baritone VocalsTrond Halstein Moe (tracks: 1, 2)
  • ChoirBergen Philharmonic Choir (tracks: 1 to 3), Kor Vest (tracks: 1 to 3), Bergen Vocal Ensemble (tracks: 1 to 3), Voci Nobili (tracks: 4)
  • Chorus MasterHåkon Matti Skrede (tracks: 1 to 3), Maria Gamborg Helbekkmo (tracks: 4)
  • Composed ByEdvard Hagerup Grieg
  • ConductorOle Kristian Ruud
  • Cover [Cover Picture]Alix Dryden
  • Edited By [Digital Editing]Bastian Schick (tracks: 5 to 11), Martin Nagorni (tracks: 1 to 4)
  • Engineer [Sound Engineer]Jens Braun (tracks: 5 to 11), Thore Brinkmann (tracks: 1 to 4)
  • Executive-ProducerRobert Suff
  • Liner NotesErlend Hovland
  • Liner Notes [English Translation]William Jewson
  • Liner Notes [French Translation]Arlette Lemieux-Chené
  • Liner Notes [German Translation]Anke Budweg
  • Mezzo-soprano VocalsIngebjørg Kosmo (tracks: 2, 4)
  • OrchestraBergen Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Photography ByBirgit Wärstad, Erik Berg
  • Producer [Recording Producer]Hans Kipfer (tracks: 5 to 11), Martin Nagorni (tracks: 1 to 4)
  • Soprano VocalsMarita Solberg (tracks: 5 to 11), Solveig Kringelborn (tracks: 1, 4)
  • Supervised By [Technical Supervisor]Thore Brinkmann (tracks: 5 to 11)
  • Typography [Cover Text]Erlend Hovland
  • Typography [Typesetting], LayoutAndrew Barnett



This recording has received support from the Grieg Foundation and Stiftelsen Musikselskabet Harmoniens Fondsforvaltning.

Recorded in November 2005 (Olav Trygvason, Foran Sydens Kloster) and June 2004 (6 Songs; Ved Rondandew) at the Grieg Hall, Bergen, Norway.
Recording Equipment: Neumann microphones; Stagetec Truematch microphone preamplifier and high resolution A/D converter; MADI optical cablinb; Yamaha 02R96 digital mixer; Sequoia Workstation; Pyramix DSD Workstation (SACD); B&W Nautilus 802 loudspeakers; STAX headphones


  • Barcode: 7318599915319
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 94A6
  • Matrix / Runout (Outer Ring): A0100751901-A911 27 A1
  • Mastering SID Code (Outer Ring): IFPI L557
  • Matrix / Runout (Inner Ring): A0100751901-B911 18 A02
  • Mastering SID Code (Inner Ring): IFPI L558
  • Rights Society: BIEM
  • Rights Society: n©b


  • Copyright (c) – BIS Records AB
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – BIS Records AB
  • Made By – Sony DADC
  • Recorded At – Grieghallen

Short intro

Ole Kristian Ruud's distinguished series of recordings of the orchestral works of Grieg is augmented here with a disc containing the opera fragment Olav Trygvason, the dramatic scene At the Cloister Gate, plus seven songs for orchestra. With the participation of four different vocal soloists, three different choirs, and the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Ruud turns in wholly idiomatic, enormously effective, and hugely enjoyable performances of mostly little-known Grieg. The three extended scenes from Olav contain the most impressive music here, music full of the dramatic fury yet formally. Olav Trygvason, Opera Fragment. Six Songs With Orchestra. Choir Male Voices From The Bergen Philharmonic Choir tracks: 2-4, 2-9, Bergen Philharmonic Choir tracks: 3-1 to 3-3, Male Voices From Kor Vest Bergen Vocal Ensemble tracks: 2-4, 2-9, Bergen Vocal Ensemble tracks: 3-1 to 3-3, Bergen Vocal Ensemble tracks: Disc 4, Disc 5. Male Voices From Seim Songkor tracks: 2-4, 2-9, Voci Nobili tracks: 3-4. Conductor Ole Kristian Ruud. Executive-Producer Robert Suff. Hardingfele Arve Moen Bergset tracks: 4-5 to 4-6. Album 2007 11 Songs. By Bjornstjerne Bjornson & Edvard GriegIngebjorg Kosmo, Solveig Kringelborn, Ole Kristian Ruud, Voci Nobili & Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. 6 Orchestral Songs, EG 177: No. Peer Gynt, Op. 23, Act IV: Solveigs Sang Solveig's Song. By Edvard GriegMarita Solberg, Ole Kristian Ruud & Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. 23, Act V: Solveigs Vuggevise Solveig's Cradle Song. Orchestra: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Ole Kristian Ruud. Composer: Edvard Grieg. Audio CD June 24, 2008. Number of Discs: 8. Den Bergtekne The Mountain Thrall, 5'37. CD 3: Olav Trygvason, opera fragment, 1. Scene 1 7'46 2. Scene 2 14'59 3. Scene 3 11'22. Foran Sydens Kloster At the Cloister Gate, 10'15. Six Songs with Orchestra 5. Solveigs Sang Solveig's Song, 5'27 6. Ole Kristian Ruud conductor. recording of: Olav Trygvason, op. 50: Scene I: No. 1: Skjult i de mange manende navne , no. 2: I, som op af Urdarbrønden. composer: Edvard Grieg composer. librettist: Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson. part of: Olav Trygvason, op. Bergen Filharmoniske Kor and Edvard Grieg Kor. mezzo-soprano vocals: Ingebjørg Kosmo. soprano vocals: Solveig Kringelborn soprano. orchestra: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. conductor: Ole Kristian Ruud conductor. Norge, Op. 58: No. Henrik Wergeland Lyrics. Marita Solberg, Ole Kristian Ruud & Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra Lyrics provided by . Do you like this album Leave a review. The recording, conducted by Ole Kristian Ruud, has an almost shocking vividness: the playing and choral singing are wonderfully ferocious Ingebjorg Kosmo is the very manic Prophetess. The 1895 Orchestral Songs, which form the coupling, have been better served elsewhere, however. Ruud's conducting is supple and finely nuanced, but Marita Solberg's chilly-sounding soprano won't, by any means, be to everyone's taste. Classical music. Edvard Grieg. Reuse this content. Find the latest tracks, albums, and images from Edvard Grieg Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Ole. Latest release. Olav Trygvason, Orchestral Songs. January 2007. Play album. Do you have any photos of this artist. Composers: Edvard Grieg. Olav Trygvason, Op. 50: Scene 2: Ej er det nok naevne ved Navn Tis not Enough that ye Invoke. Solveig Kringelborn. Grieg: Olav Trygvason, Orchestral Songs. 50: Scene 3: Giv alle Guder gammens og gledesskal Give to all Gods a Grace-Cup of Gratitude. 23, Act IV: Solveigs sang Solveig's Song. Read album review at . CD 1. Edvard Grieg Composer. Olav Trygvason, opera incomplete Work. Recorded 2005. Bergen Philharmonic Choir ChorusChoir, Trond Halstein Moe Baritone, KorVest Vocal Ensemble, Ingebjørg Kosmo Mezzo-Soprano, Ole Kristian Ruud Conductor, Håkon Matti Skrede Choirmaster, Solveig Kringelborn Soprano, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra Orchestra. Scene 1. Marita Solberg Soprano, Ole Kristian Ruud Conductor, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra Orchestra. sang 'Solveig's Song'