Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Diamanda Galás - Masque Of The Red Death

Diamanda Galás - Masque Of The Red Death Album

Diamanda Galás - Masque Of The Red Death Album
Performer: Diamanda Galás
Title: Masque Of The Red Death
Country: UK
Genre: Electronic
Released: 01 Dec 1988
Catalog number: GALAS 1, CD STUMM 33, CD STUMM 46
Label: Mute
MP3 album szie: 1314 mb
FLAC album size: 2650 mb


1E Ξeaóy Me (Deliver Me)
Performer [Chains] – F.M. Einheit
2II. Lamentations
3 You Must Be Certain Of The Devil
4V. Υιατί́́, Ό́́ Θξό́́ς?
5 The Divine Punishment
6Birds Of Death
Guitar – Kurt SchmidtPercussion – Peter Zimmermann
7III. We Shall Not Accept Your Quarantine
8Deliver Me From My Enemies
9Double-Barrel Prayer
Guitar – Kurt Schmidt
10La Treizième Revient (The Thirteenth Returns)
11Free Among The Dead
12VI. Psalm 22 (Excerpt)
13You Must Be Certain Of The Devil
14III. Sono L'Antichristo
Text By – D.galás
16II. Deliver Me From Mine Enemies
17Let My People Go
18I. This Is The Law Of The Plague
19L'Heautontimoroumenos (Self-Tormentor)
Written-By – Charles Baudelaire
20I. Psalm 88
21 Saint Of The Pit
22Swing Low Sweet Chariot
23The Lord Is My Shepherd
24IV. Εξεαόυμε [Deliver Me.]
Written-By – Gérard Nerval
26Cris D'Aveugle (Blinds Man's Cry)
Drums – F.M. EinheitWritten-By – Tristan Corbière


  • Composed By, Performer, Co-producerDiamanda Galas (tracks: 1-1 to 1-2)
  • Composed By, Performer, Soprano Vocals, Bass Vocals, Organ [Hammond Organs], Synthesizer [Digital & Analogue Synthesizers]Diamanda Galas (tracks: 1-3 to 1-7)
  • Design [Original The Divine Punishment Sleeve Design And Treatment]P.D. White
  • Design [You Must Be Certain Of The Devil Cover]Paul White
  • Design [You Must Be Certain Of The Devil Drawing]James Nocito
  • DrumsCharlie Terstappen (tracks: 2-1 to 2-7)
  • EngineerFrank Harris (tracks: 1-2)
  • Engineer [Additional Signal Processing]Richard Zvonar (tracks: 1-2)
  • Engineer, ProducerDave Hunt (tracks: 1-1)
  • Lyrics By [All Texts Taken From The Old Testament]Traditional (tracks: 1-1)
  • Mastered ByJohn Dent (tracks: 2-1 to 2-7)
  • Music ConsultantPaul Kendall (tracks: 2-1 to 2-7)
  • Photography By [Cover]Emily Anderson
  • Photography By [Saint Of The Pit]M. Curtin
  • Photography By [The Divine Punishment Cover]T.J. Eng
  • ProducerDiamanda Galas (tracks: 1-3 to 1-7), Diamanda Galas (tracks: 2-1 to 2-7), Gareth Jones (tracks: 1-3 to 1-7), Gareth Jones (tracks: 2-1 to 2-7)
  • Recorded By [Synthesizer Overdubs]Paul Kendall (tracks: 1-3 to 1-7)
  • Text By [Introduction]Biba Kopf
  • Vocals, Organ [Hammond], Piano, Synthesizer, Keyboards [Bass]Diamanda Galas (tracks: 2-1 to 2-7)


Box contained two CD’s in separate jewel cases plus insert with text by Biba Kopf.

Listen, man
it may soon be time
for you to guard a dying man
until the angels come.
Lets not chat about despair.
If you are a man (and not a coward)
you will grasp the hand of him denied by mercy
until his breath becomes your own.

1. The Divine Punishment
2. Saint Of The Pit
3. You Must Be Certain Of The Devil

A Plague Mass in 3 Parts.

℗ 1986/7&8 © 1988 Mute Records Ltd.


  • Barcode (Box Set): 5 016025 670017
  • Barcode (CD STUMM 33): 5 016025 610334
  • Barcode (CD STUMM 46): 5 016025 610464
  • Matrix / Runout (CD STUMM 33): CDSTUMM33 129551 % MADE IN U.K. BY PDO
  • Matrix / Runout (CD STUMM 46): CD STUMM 46 . MASTERED BY NIMBUS


  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Mute Records Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – Mute Records Ltd.
  • Recorded At – Hansa Tonstudios
  • Recorded At – Worldwide Studios
  • Recorded At – Tritonus Tonstudio
  • Mastered At – Nimbus
  • Recorded At – Dave Hunt Studio
  • Produced At – Hansa Tonstudios
  • Mastered At – The Exchange
  • Designed At – Me Company
  • Made By – PDO, UK – 129551

Short intro

Masque of the Red Death is an anthology album by avant-garde musician Diamanda Galás, released on 1 December 1988 by Mute Records. It comprises three studio albums previously issued only on LP: The Divine Punishment, Saint of the Pit and You Must Be Certain of the Devil. All music is composed by Diamanda Galás, except where noted. Songs in album Diamanda Galás - The Masque Of The Red Death 1993. Diamanda Galás - Deliver Me From Mine Enemies. Diamanda Galás - Free Among The Dead. Diamanda Galás - La Trezieme Revient. Diamanda Galás - Deliver Me. The Masque of the Red Death originally published as The Mask of the Red Death: A Fantasy is a short story by American writer Edgar Allan Poe, first published in 1842. The story follows Prince Prospero's attempts to avoid a dangerous plague, known as the Red Death, by hiding in his abbey. He, along with many other wealthy nobles, hosts a masquerade ball in seven rooms of the abbey, each decorated with a different color. In the midst of their revelry, a mysterious figure disguised as a Red Death. Masque of the Red Death. Tracklist: disc a: The Divine Punishment & Saint of the Pit disc b: You Must Be Certain of the Devil. Diamanda galas' music returning to streaming services everywhere Click to read Bandcamp's Guide to the Discography of Diamanda Galás, Avant-Garde Oracle. Listen free to Diamanda Galás Masque of the Red Death Deliver Me From Mine Enemies, Free Among the Dead and more. 15 tracks 99:18. Diamanda Galás born August 29, 1955 is a Greek-American avant-garde performance artist, vocalist, and composer. Galás was born and raised in San Diego, California, USA. Galás is known for being a fiercely confrontational avant-garde performer and is noted for her wailing, four-octave vocal range. Contains: The Divine Punishment, Saint of the Pit, and You Must Be Certain of the Devil A Plague Mass in 3 Parts. A 2-CD set with pieces similar in intensity to the Plague Mass. Track Listing - Disc 1. Only for completionists 0. And oh yes, never play this if any of your family members are around. 5 stars. Diamanda Galás - has been described as capable of the most unnerving vocal terror. Her works largely concentrate on the topics of AIDS, mental of the Red DeathCompilation album by Diamanda GalásReleased1 December 1988 1988-12-01Recorded1986 19861987 1987GenreAvant-gardeL. Kenny, Glenn Robbins, Ira 2007. Diamanda Galás. Trouser Press. Retrieved 3 July 2015. External links. This 1980s albumrelated article is a stub